URSI-France Workshop




March 26-27, 2024
Pierre et Marie Curie Campus
Sorbonne Université, Paris 5e


Sponsored by:

Plasmas, these states of matter comprised of charged particles, play a pivotal role in a diverse array of industrial and scientific applications. These applications span from cleaning and material deposition to space propulsion and nuclear fusion, encompassing the study of the ionosphere, interplanetary environments, and astrophysical plasmas. Due to their electrical conductivity, plasmas interact with electric and magnetic fields in numerous ways. Electromagnetic waves can be harnessed to both generate and study plasmas, but conversely, plasmas can also serve as versatile tools for creating waves with appropriate characteristics.

The URSI-France 2024 workshop, organized under the auspices of the French Academy of Sciences, will focus on "Waves Serving Plasmas, Plasmas Serving Waves". It will be structured around oral and poster sessions. Most of the sessions will be introduced by keynotes and guest speakers, presenting the state of the art and/or recent developments, followed by papers selected by the scientific committee.

The workshop aims to bring together researchers (from academia and industry) under the following topics:

  •  Generation of plasmas by microwaves/RF waves
  •  Plasma heating
  •  Innovative instrumentation
  •  Wave diagnostics
  •  Modeling and simulation of wave/plasma interactions
  •  Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC)
  •  Other wave/plasma/wave interactions

URSI-France, applying the URSI policy of support to women in radio science, warmly encourages them to highlight their works in the context of JS 2024.

See the call for communications - submission deadline: December 15, 2023


This workshop will take place on Tuesday, March 26 and Wednesday, March 27 at the International Conference Center, Sorbonne University, Jussieu campus (Paris 5th).

Instructions for Authors

Proposals for papers should be submitted online via the dedicated website https://ursifr-2024.sciencesconf.orgin the form of a clear and concise text of one to two pages (summary paper), with sufficient content to allow their scientific evaluation. After acceptance, a "final" more complete paper will be requested (with 4 pages in length as a typical target). The format of the submission must respect the JS 2024 Template, which contains further information on paper submission. The slides will be in English while the talks may be English or French.


  • A “Young researcher” grant of 300 euros and a free registration will be provided to the main author and presenter of the best article, if he is candidate, under 35 on March 26, 2024 and affiliated to a European laboratory other than French.
  • A best paper “Young scientist” award will be selected by the scientific committee. The young scientist must be PhD student or post-doctoral student and first author of the paper.

These two allocations are independent and may turn out to be given to the same person.


The proceedings of the workshop will be availablein open access on this web site.

A selection of papers will be proposed for extended publication, either in the Comptes rendus Physique de l’Académie des sciences (in English) or in the Revue de l’électricité et de l’électronique (in French).

Key dates

January 8, 2024:

Deadline for submission of summary papers

January 31, 2024:

Notification to authors of acceptance

February 21, 2024:

March 1, 2024:

Deadline for submission of full papers

Notification to authors of full paper acceptance and online registration open

March 8, 2024

March 26-27, 2023:

Deadline of registration



Organizing committee chair : Alain SIBILLE (Telecom Paris & URSI-France)

Joël Hamelin (URSI-France)
Julien Hillairet (CEA/IRFM)
Lluis Mir (CNRS & URSI-France)
Alessandro Retinò (Ecole Polytechnique/LPP)
Laurence Rezeau (Sorbonne université/LPP & PLAS@PAR)
Jean-Francois Ripoll (CEA/DAM)
Julien Sarrazin (Sorbonne université/GEEPS)
Hervé Sizun (URSI-France)

Scientific committee chairs : Elvira ASTAFYEVA (IPGP) and Julien HILLAIRET (CEA/IRFM)

Mathieu Barthelemy (IPAG)
Pierre-Louis Blelly (IRAP)
Matthieu Bonilla (Nuclétudes)
Carine Briand (LESIA)
Sébastien Celestin (LPC2E)
Pierdavide Coïsson (IPGP)
Vincent Fabbro (ONERA)
Thomas Farges (CEA/DAM)
Patrick Galopeau (LATMOS)
Stéphane Heuraux (IJL)
Emmanuel d’Humières (U.Bordeaux)
Claudia Lazzaroni (LPSM)
Vincent Maget (ONERA)
Denis Packan (ONERA)
Philippe Pouliguen (DGA)
Laurence Rezeau (LPP & PLAS@PAR)
Alessandro Retinò (Ecole Polytechnique/LPP)
Xavier Ribeyre (CEA/DAM)
Jean-Francois Ripoll (CEA/DAM)
Roland Sabot (CEA/IRFM)
Stéphane Saillant (ONERA)
Jérôme Sokoloff (LAPLACE)
Laure Vermare (LPP)
Arnaud Zaslavsky (LESIA)


The registration fee is 250 € for each participant. It includes, among others, lunches and coffee breaks. A 125€ reduced fee will be applied to students and retired participants.

Registrations have to be made online: https://ursifr-2024.sciencesconf.org